Content
Breadcrumbs

BTEC Instructors

BTEC’s highly qualified scientists, engineers, and operations staff carry out the center’s programs. Many have extensive experience with leading biomanufacturing companies.

Name Position Phone Email
Ryan Barton, Ph.D. Sr. Scientist, Automation, Bioproces Engineering 919-513-0969 ryan_barton@ncsu.edu
José Bruno-Bárcena, Ph.D. Professor of Microbiology, Plant and Microbial Biology 919-513-1495 jose_bruno-barcena@ncsu.edu
Greg Buhrman, Ph.D. Scientist I, Analytical 919-513-5914 gkbuhrma@ncsu.edu
Miles Calzini, Ph.D. Scientist I, AIM-Bio 919-513-5924 macalzin@ncsu.edu
Ruben Carbonell, Ph.D. BTEC Distinguished Fellow 919-515-5118 ruben@ncsu.edu
Crystal Collazo Scientist II, Fermentation   cmcollaz@ncsu.edu
Kirill Efimenko, Ph.D. Research Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 919-513-0548 efimenko@ncsu.edu
Driss Elhanafi, Ph.D. Senior Scientist, Cell Line Development 919-513-8236 delhana@ncsu.edu
Hayley Flores, Ph.D. Senior Scientist, Fermentation 919-515-0222 hmskelto@ncsu.edu
Gary Gilleskie, Ph.D. Executive Director 919-515-0176 gary_gilleskie@ncsu.edu
Cyndell Gracieux-Singleton, Ph.D. Manager, Analytical 919-513-2196 mcgracie@ncsu.edu
Elissa Hudspeth Senior Scientist, AIM-Bio 919-513-8094 ehudspe@ncsu.edu
Rick Lawless Lecturer   rick_lawless@ncsu.edu
Stefano Menegatti, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 919-515-6398 smenega@ncsu.edu
Danny Monroe, Ph.D. Assistant Director, Academic Programs 919-513-2195 dsmonroe@ncsu.edu
Pa Nhia Moore Manager, Student Programs 919-515-0213 pa_moore@ncsu.edu
Paul Mozdziak, Ph.D. Professor, Poultry Science 919-515-5544 pemozdzi@ncsu.edu
Laurie Overton Senior Scientist, Cell Culture 919-513-8237 lkovert2@ncsu.edu
Jennifer Pancorbo, Ph.D. Director, Industry Programs and Research 919-515-0215
jennifer_pancorbo@ncsu.edu
Balaji Rao, Ph.D. Director, Academic Programs 919-515-0175 bmrao@ncsu.edu
Deepa Sambandan, Ph.D. Research Program Manager 919-515-0166 dsamban@ncsu.edu
Kurt Selle, Ph.D. Assistant Director, Fermentation and Cell Line Development 919-515-4797 kmselle@ncsu.edu
John Sheppard, Ph.D. Professor, Food, Bioprocessing, and Nutrition Sciences 919-513-0802 jdsheppa@ncsu.edu
Sara Siegel, Ph.D. Senior Scientist, AIM-Bio 919-513-1698 ssiegel@ncsu.edu
Suleiman Sweilem Scientist I, Cell Culture 919-513-7493 smabuswe@ncsu.edu
Douglas Tremblay Lab Manager, Biomedical Engineering 919-515-9741 dptrembl@ncsu.edu
John van Zanten, Ph.D. Teaching Assistant Professor 919-515-0217 john_vz@ncsu.edu
Haiwei Zhang Senior Scientist, Bioprocess Services 919-513-1699 haiwei_zhang@ncsu.edu
 
Michael Flickinger, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus   michael_flickinger@ncsu.edu

BTEC Fellows

BTEC recognizes the industry professionals and subject matter experts (SMEs) who contribute to its teaching mission with BTEC Fellow appointments each academic year. Brief profiles are provided for the current BTEC Fellows.