Faculty and Staff

Teaching Faculty

Name Position Phone Email
Susan Bernacki, Ph.D. Research Associate, Biomedical Engineering 919-513-7710
Krisstina Burgess, Ph.D. Senior Scientist 919-515-0222
Ruben Carbonell, Ph.D. Executive Director (On Leave) 919-515-5118
Kirill Efimenko, Ph.D. Research Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 919-513-0548
Driss Elhanafi, Ph.D. Senior Scientist 919-513-8236
Michael Flickinger, Ph.D. Director, Academic Programs 919-515-0175
Gary Gilleskie, Ph.D. Acting Executive Director & Director, Operations 919-515-0176
Nathaniel Hentz, Ph.D. Assistant Director, Analytical Lab 919-515-0218
Rick Lawless Director, Industry Programs 919-515-8526
Paul Mozdziak, Ph.D. Professor, Poultry Science 919-515-5544
Laurie Overton Senior Scientist 919-513-8237
Jennifer Pancorbo, Ph.D. Assistant Director,
Bioprocess Services
Charles Rutter, Ph.D. Senior Scientist 919-513-1698
John Sheppard, Ph.D. Professor, Food, Bioprocessing, and Nutrition Sciences 919-513-0802
Caroline Smith-Moore, Ph.D. Senior Scientist 919-513-8094
John van Zanten, Ph.D. Teaching Assistant Professor 919-515-0217

BTEC Teaching Fellows

Name Title
Decebal Bora, Pharm. D., MPH Director of Regulatory Affairs, ActoGeniX N.V., Ghent, Belgium
Bruce K. Burnett, Ph.D., RAC (US, EU) Director of Regulatory Affairs, Duke Translational Medicine Institute, Duke University
Lucia Clontz, MS, D. H.Sc. Site Quality Head, Xellia Pharmaceuticals
Marcello Fidaleo, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department for Innovation in Biological, Agro-Food and Forest Systems, University of Tuscia, Italy
Richard E. Kouri, Ph.D. Professor of Practice, Poole College of Management, NC State University
Pierre Leveau, Pharm. D. Head of the Quality, Safety and Environment Unit, European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare (EDQM) – Council of Europe, Strasbourg, France
Jeff Odum, MS, CPIP Director of Operations, Integrated Project Services, North Carolina
Baley Reeves, Ph.D.  
Saly Romero-Torres, Ph.D. Senior Manager of Process Data Analytics, Biogen RTP
Abhinav A. Shukla, Ph.D. Vice President of Process Development and Manufacturing, KBI Biopharma


Name Position Phone Email
John Balchunas Assistant Director, Professional Development Programs 919-515-0550
Steve Boone Finance Manager 919-513-1631
Patty Brown Instructional Designer 919-513-1099
Chris Cummings Bioprocess Training Associate
Elizabeth Dustin Bioprocess Training Associate
Brian Herring Instructional Media Developer 919-515-0212
Zach Hetzler Bioprocess Training Associate
Melody Lao Scientist II 919-515-4239
Lauren Liles Bioprocess Training Associate
Danny Monroe, Ph.D. Assistant Director, Academic Programs 919-513-2195
Brian Mosley Scientist II 919-515-2855
Winnell Newman Manager, Student Programs 919-515-0213
Robert Niklas Maintenance Engineer 919-515-0184
Alan Overton Maintenance Engineer 919-515-4797
Michael Ray Bioprocess Training Associate
Michele Ray-Davis Manager, Planning, Supply Chain and Central Services 919-513-0952
Joe Reigher Maintenance Engineer 919-513-8212
Eric Safarz Bioprocess Training Associate 919-515-0178
Jennifer Sasser Technology Support Technician 919-513-0964
Arjun Shastry Bioprocess Training Associate
Jason Stappenbeck Maintenance Engineer 919-515-0185
Suleiman Sweilem Bioprocess Training Associate
John Taylor Bioprocess Training Associate
Matt Teten Scientist II 919-515-2644
Melody Woodyard Assistant Director, Finance & Administration 919-513-8095
Greg Worsley Scientist I
Haiwei Zhang Scientist II 919-513-1699
Xinyu "Catherine" Zhang, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Teaching Scholar 919-515-0166