Advisory Board and Partners

Advisory Board

The BTEC Advisory Board was established per the original Golden LEAF grant application to provide guidance to BTEC in the following areas: course content, curriculum development, instruction, certification requirements, assessment, marketing, and facilities/equipment needs. Since its inception, the Advisory Board has met three to four times per year and has provided valuable advice during construction, curriculum development, start-up, and operation.

Name Title Organization
Gray Armstrong Interim Site Leader Pfizer
Ruben Carbonell, Ph.D. Director (on Leave) NC State BTEC
Will Darrigrand Site Director bioMérieux, Inc. *
Shawn Gallagher President, Partnership Management Eisai Co., Ltd.
Ed George Sr. Project Manager RGD Project Management
Gary Gilleskie, Ph.D. Acting Director NC State BTEC
Amy M. Grunden, Ph.D. Professor of Microbiology & University Faculty Scholar NC State College of Life Sciences, Dept. of Plant & Microbial Biology
Chad Henry Corporate Vice President Novo Nordisk *
Mike Hess, Ph.D. Sr. Manager of GO-US Novozymes
Paula M. Keith, Ph.D. Founder BioLogic Solutions, LLC
Tim Kelly, Ph.D. Executive Vice President, Operations KBI Biopharma, Inc. *
Bob Kenyon Vice President, North American Manufacturing Operations Biogen *
Louis Martin-Vega, Ph.D. Dean NC State College of Engineering
Hernan Navarro, Ph.D. Brite Director North Carolina Central University (BRITE)
Dave Perez Vice President JE Dunn Construction
Scot Shepard Head, Global Technical Development Seqirus
Mark Sorrells Sr. Vice President Golden LEAF Foundation
John Stefanyk Senior Account Manager/RTP EMD Millipore *
Mary Beth Thomas, Ph.D. Sr. VP for Science & Business Development North Carolina Biotechnology Center
John Wagner Program Manager NCBIO
Mark Walker Director of Training, Americas Sartorius *
Pamela Webb Vice President, Americas, Life Science Formulated Chemistries Steris Life Sciences *
Ken Wilson Director, Automation & MES Merck & Co., Inc. *
David Yarley Director, Training Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnologies

*Current BTEC scholarship sponsor.


BTEC is part of NCBioImpact, an educational partnership in which the North Carolina Community College System BioNetwork, the Biomanufacturing Research Institute and Technology Enterprise (BRITE), the North Carolina Biotechnology Center, and the North Carolina Biosciences Organization (NCBIO) are also members.

NCBioImpact was implemented to meet the workforce needs of North Carolina's life sciences industry. Another partner is the Golden LEAF Foundation, which provided almost $39 million to build the BTEC facility. BTEC reports administratively to NC State's College of Engineering and resides on NC State's Centennial Campus, an award-winning research science park. BTEC is a founding member of BTEC International, an organization created to provide biomanufacturing training, education and process services in the United States and Europe.