Established in fall 2008, the BTEC scholarship program provides financial assistance to selected students pursuing an undergraduate minor in Biomanufacturing. Scholarships are funded by biomanufacturing and biotechnology companies that do business in the RTP area and beyond. Requirements and awards vary based on the sponsor.

Candidates for a BTEC scholarship are full-time NC State University students majoring in engineering or life science, and have applied for an undergraduate biomanufacturing minor. Candidates are considered during their freshmen and sophomore years, and scholarships are awarded in the junior year. Awards may be renewed yearly or at defined times based on agreements between the sponsor and NCSU Engineering Foundation. Funds are disbursed on a semester basis to the recipient's university account.

Students do not need to write a separate application for these scholarships. The BTEC scholarship selection committee identifies recipients based on merit and/or financial need, and other factors and requirements as stipulated by each sponsor.

Scholarship sponsors

Current sponsors

Biogen Idec
Bio Merieux
Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnologies
KBI Biopharma
Saint Gobain Performance Plastics
Sartorius Stedim
Steris logo

Past sponsors

Novo Nordisk