BTEC Distinguished Fellow honored by AAAS

Published December 14, 2020

Dr. Ruben Carbonell, executive director of BTEC from 2007–2017 and now BTEC Distinguished Fellow, has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He is one of 10 new Fellows from NC State, the largest group selected since the university's founding in 1887. AAAS, the world's largest scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, has been awarding fellowships since 1874. The 2020 Fellows were recognized in the journal in November, and a virtual induction ceremony will be held Feb. 13, 2021.

Dr. Carbonell, the Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, was selected for his distinguished contributions to the field of chemical and biomolecular engineering, particularly innovations in multiphase reactor design, high-pressure thin-film coating and novel bioseparation processes.

Read about the other NC State faculty honored as AAAS Fellows.